ATTITUDE….

8 Dec

If your going to have attitude let it be an attitude of gratitude!

Every single place I went today I was asked “How are you today?” Every single time I responded the same way, “NO COMPLAINTS HERE!” It was so funny to see the people look back in shock and then reply, “Wow, that is so good to hear.” I just decided that if you say it, so it shall be.

My life is all about choices right now. I can choose to feel bad that I haven’t quit smoking yet. I can feel bad that I didn’t drink enough water today, or that I ate so bad the last two days. I can feel bad that I am not perfect, or not the right weight, or too short, or not giving enough etc..etc…etc… BUT…..I WON’T

My life is about choice. My life right now is about transformation, and I know Rome wasn’t built in a day. I know this is a journey I am on. A big part of this journey for me is not self deprecating. I have to love myself even if….(fill in the blanks).

So instead I will adopt an ATTITUDE OF GRATITUDE. I will be grateful for all the amazing things in my life, which by the way I love so much right now. I will be grateful and let that gratitude fill me up. I will let that attitude replace the old boring attitude of self hatred, jealousy, envy, sadness, hurt, loneliness and the all the rest of those things that don’t serve me anymore.

Came across this online tonight. Holy Cow! How serendipitous that I read it tonight! “Attitude of Gratitude”. If you don’t believe me take it from the New York Times!

So today I want to say all the things I am grateful for in my life

MY AMAZING CHILDREN BLAISE AND MADDOCK! YOU ARE THE LIGHT OF MY LIFE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

MY AMAZING SISTER JENNIFER
MY AMAZING MOM BARBARA AND DAD JACK
MY DAD MELVIN PASTILOFF FOR GIVING ME LIFE, EVEN THOUGH OUR TIME TOGETHER WAS BRIEF, YOU ARE PART OF ME
THE READERS OF MY BLOG (YOU GUYS ARE KEEPING ME SMILING EVERYDAY)
THE INSTRUCTORS AT GYMNASTICS FOR NOT GIVING UP ON BLAISE TODAY
THE HANDS I HAVE TO WRITE ON MY COMPUTER
THE LEGS I HAVE TO KEEP ME WALKING
THE HOUSE I LIVE IN THAT KEEPS A ROOF OVER MY FAMILYS HEAD
MY HUSBAND FOR GOING TO WORK SO I CAN STAY HOME WITH MY BOYS
OUR SKATEPARK THAT WE OWN FOR PROVIDING FOR OUR FAMILY EVERY DAY
NEW FRIENDS MADE EVERYDAY
ALL THE MOMMIES I MEET WHO ALSO HAVE SPECIAL NEEDS KIDS, WHO LET ME KNOW I AM NOT CRAZY
DR. MILLER AND DR. ROOF, FOR NEVER GIVING UP ON ALL THE PWS KIDS
MY AMAZING STYLIST AND FRIEND JULIE FOR GIVING ME MY LOOK, AND GIVING ME SOME ATTITUDE IN MY LIFE
ALL THE PEOPLE WHO ARE COMMITTED TO HELPING ME WITH MY PWS WALK
ALL THE PEOPLE WHO WATCHED MY YOUTUBE VIDEO AND SHARED WITH THEIR FRIENDS
AND…..
I AM JUST GRATEFUL TO BE ALIVE…I REALLY BLEEPIN LOVE MY LIFE RIGHT NOW. OH YEAH!!!!! 

SO DEAR READERS, I ASK YOU THIS…..

6 Responses to “ATTITUDE….”

  1. barbarapotter December 8, 2011 at 7:32 pm #

    I am grateful for my two beautiful and kind daughters.
    I am grateful for my father
    I am grateful for the home we live in
    I am grateful for the friends that are always there for us
    I am grateful that my nieces and nephews (grand) have my sister to raise them
    I am grateful that I got to see my mom before she passed away in the hospital (I was there)
    I am grateful for my husband Jack
    I am grateful for my health
    I am grateful that my husband has a business to go to everyday
    I am grate for having love in my life

  2. barbarapotter December 8, 2011 at 7:32 pm #

    Oops, grateful for having loving in my life but that is “great” too….

  3. Emily Rapp December 8, 2011 at 7:47 pm #

    It’s so funny, because last week at yoga our teacher said, “True love is about loving your life right now, just as it is.” That really stuck with me, and that’s what you’re doing here! I thought of that today as I heard about 2 deaths this week. You’ve got to love your life, whatever it is. Period. Thanks for the reminder.

    • rachyrachp December 8, 2011 at 8:10 pm #

      Emily, what more can you do right? You understand that as well as I. When I went home to visit Jen she took me to her Sunday yoga class. It was my first yoga class ever. I worked as hard as I could, I was so inspired, I felt so accomplished. I was so happy surrounded by so many amazing people there that day. I thought to myself, “god, it is so amazing in California, I feel so inspired here,I feel like I would be so much better living here.” I then realized that I need to make a life where I am, be happy where I am. So I turned to Jen and said, “Jen, I can be happy anywhere. I can make a life anywhere.” She looked and me and gave me a huge high five. I think of that moment all the time. I think of it in my darkest hours. I think I have got to make a life, be happy, move forward in spite of all the shitty hands we have been dealt. When PWS gets me down the most, or I want to slap autism in the face, or I want to tell ADHD to take a flying hike, I think to myself. Just smile and be grateful that you have something to be mad at, because at least that means I am alive. If I didn’t do that,at least most of the time, I would feel so helpless and I would definitely spiral out of control.

      P.S. Thank you for being my inspiration. You remind me constantly what it means to see myself happy in the future, in spite of …….
      You are a rock. You have impacted my life FOREVER!!!!!!!!

  4. rachyrachp December 8, 2011 at 7:50 pm #

    I love that mom. I didn’t write that down, but being grateful for having love is the bomb!
    You are so loved, more than I think you could ever know. I am who I am today because of you and all that you sacrificed for me. I am the strong woman I am because you showed me how. I am the the mom that I am because I have your guidance. Jennifer and I are the sisters that we are because you and Aunt Honey showed us the way. My kids are so lucky to have such an amazing grandmother. I AM GRATEFUL FOR YOU!

Leave a Reply

