I DARE YOU…

9 Dec

NO, SERIOUSLY…

I dare you to tell me why I shouldn’t love my life. Why shouldn’t I enjoy all the things in my life. Why shouldn’t I smile when I wake up in the morning and be joyful all day long.

Tell me, should I not love my life because my son has Prader-Willi Syndrome? Should I not smile as much as the people that have more money than I do? Should I not laugh and be joyful because my house is small, or my car is used!

I just don’t like that way of thinking. I just don’t! I don’t like thinking that  if  something isn’t perfect or pretty, or wrapped up in a neat little bow that it is worthless. That just isn’t cool with me ANYMORE. I want to feel that I can love my life no matter how it looks.

I most certainly have a ton of things in my life that could easily break me down. I have had my fair share of days where I wanted to just pull the covers up.

You know what my life is NOT PERFECT and it really isn’t PRETTY either. My life is messy, it’s complicated, it’s frustrating, it’s sad, it’s unorganized, it’s sometimes just NOT FAIR.

But, you know what. I love my life anyway. I LOVE MY LIFE….I love that I have so many things to be grateful for right now. I love that I have this passion inside me. I love that I haven’t felt this inspired in a really long time. I love that my gratitude is rubbing off on my family. I love having a smile on my face all day long, even after not having slept a wink last night.

You know there really are a ton of reasons why I could say I don’t love my life, but I choose something different.

When Blaise was first diagnosed I remember somebody saying to me, “You will eventually be grateful for the diagnosis.” I wanted to kill that person, I thought they were clearly out of their mind. I get it now. I am grateful. Of course I totally hate PWS, but I totally love my son. Blaise wouldn’t be who he is without all that it took to make him, including the little genetic parts that got left out 😉

You know we moved into a smaller house this summer, a much smaller house. I found myself very depressed and sad because of what it meant to go smaller. Oh my god, who was this person who would be upset over something like that. I never thought that would be me, but it was. However, I can’t believe it. I am so much happier in our new tiny little house, my kids are so much happier, my husband is happier. Hello, my whole family is happier. We spend more time together as a family, my kids play outside more, and my dogs are free to run their little hearts out. It was such an amazing lesson for me. You could love you life, love your space, love your home….NO MATTER IF IT WAS BIG OR SMALL, FANCY OR SIMPLE, DECORATED OR BARE….You have to make the choice to love it..

How could you not love your life when you get a necklace like this from your son!!!

So dear readers I say this to you…..Love it, or leave it alone. LOVE YOUR LIFE OR FIND A WAY TO MAKE A NEW!

4 Responses to “I DARE YOU…”

  1. abichica December 9, 2011 at 9:43 pm #

    It’s so amazing that you choose to see the beauty and the light of the world, not only the darkness and sadness.. With your post you have touched one person ( me) and you will touch more people.. Such a beautiful inspiring post.. Thank you.. please do check out my blog..
    http://chicwithwords.wordpress.com/

    • rachyrachp December 9, 2011 at 9:59 pm #

      Thank you so much. I am so inspired by the people in my life. I feel so blessed if I can pass that inspiration on.

  2. Emily Rapp December 10, 2011 at 1:10 am #

    Love!!!

  3. barbarapotter December 10, 2011 at 10:52 am #

    I love my life today. Thanks for reminding me to say that. Your Mama

Leave a Reply

