You Can Make It Anywhere

12 Dec

What is a family?

I have always moved around in my life. There have been many years where I lived far away from my entire family. So what I learned early on is that I had to make a family for myself, for all the days that I couldn’t be with my blood family. I have always know that people can be family to you, even if that weren’t blood related. I have had the amazing opportunity to have so many amazing friends in my life who I consider family.

In 2006 I moved to 

Unfortunately my family still lives in

This separation brought on a whole new meaning once my kids were born. For those of you who know me, my mom, my dad, and my sister, you know that we are a pretty tight bunch. I know the distance apart is I think just as hard on them as it is on me.

I moved to Georgia knowing not a single person other than Jona, my then boyfriend, now husband. It was really not easy to make friends here. I really struggled, and to be quite honest, that was a first for me.

Now, 6 years later, here I sit happy full of family in my life. I have great friends who are family and now a great family by marriage.

I have always been close with my husbands parents, but as the years have gone on, we have gotten closer and closer. I know of for a lot of you out there, you really couldn’t imagine yourself just going over to your in laws house to hang out, with out your spouse. I DO ALL THE TIME! YOU SHOULD TRY IT, IT’S FUN!!!

I really miss my family, I mean I really miss my family every minute of every day. The thing is this, I had to see that I had other people right in front of me who wanted to help fill that void for me.

In the years since I have been here I have blessed to have made my family grow. I have great girlfriends who are like sisters to me, great in-laws are look after me like my own parents, and I have many more people to meet in the years to come.

To me it is really important, to build and grow relationships that are strong and meaningful.

I really wanted to write this post during this holiday time. Of course this is a time when families get together. For so many people going home is stressful, they don’t get along with their in-laws, they fight with their siblings, or they have to see old friends who have left their life  from the town they grew up in.

Family is what you make it. You can make a family anywhere. If for some reason things are strained with your real family, look to the people around you. You may have a really strong family and didn’t even recognize that it was in front of you the whole time.

There is another really important family in my life it is my PWS family. I don’t know how I would have survived the last 2 + years since Blaise’s diagnosis without them. Every time I meet a new PWS family there is an instant connection, like we have known each other all along. I love this family of mine. Thousands strong and always getting stronger. We are an amazing family. I have never seen a group of people, many who have never met but online, many who are thousands of miles apart, do so much for each other. This is a family like no other I have ever seen. This is a family that at first I didn’t want to be in, but now can’t imagine my life without. Check out our fan page on Facebook to see some of the amazing folks I am talking about.

Leave a Reply

