Smell the Roses

17 Dec

It’s time to stop and smell the roses…

I have learned so many things from being the parent of a special needs child, but the biggest is to cherish all the little things in life. When Blaise was a little baby I was so consumed with things like, was he bigger than other kids, did he speak as much as other children, what percentage was he on the growth chart, did his eyes cross, and was he really different than other children.

Funny thing is I don’t think about any of that anymore, well not really. I have really learned to just enjoy my son for who he is. I have learned to appreciate all the little things that make him Blaise.

He may not have walked at 12 months, but he did eventually learn to walk.

He may not have learned to talk at 2 years, but he is talking now.

He may not be able to put on his own shoes, but at least he has two feet to wear them on.

He may not have perfect vision, but he looks damn good in his glasses

He may not understand abstract concepts, but he has an amazing sense of humor.

He may not be able to sing the words to his favorite songs perfectly, but he can sing the tune and shake his booty like no one else I know

You see there are so many things that he can do, and do well. He just does them on his own time. I really struggled with that for a long time, I mean a really long time. Now I just love him for who he is. I love his spirit. He has the ability to brighten my day with just one look, just one smile, or just one dance.

He has taught me to not care about what people think. When you have a child with special needs you have to let all of that nonsense go. You can’t care about what people think, it would drive you mad. You have to be able to tolerate all the stares when your out shopping and your child goes into full blown meltdown. You have to put on a body of armor and just let it all bounce off of you.

I am really enjoying the idea of just stopping to smell the roses.

I have learned to really appreciate all of his accomplishments big or small. When you have a child with special needs even the smallest of things can be a major victory.

You know we all have a lot to learn from these kids. Maybe we all need to slow down in our lives. Blaise lives in the moment, he only lives for the moment. That is a great lesson for us all. I know it is for me. I spend too much time worrying about the future.

 

So dear readers. Is it time for you to slow down and smell the roses in your life. Are you spending so much time trying to do everything right and perfect that you are missing what is right in front of you? Take a break and enjoy your life.

5 Responses to “Smell the Roses”

  1. barbarapotter December 17, 2011 at 7:55 pm #

    Wow Rachel nothing could be said more beautifully.

    • rachyrachp December 17, 2011 at 8:13 pm #

      Thank you mommy. I love you.

  2. ManifestYogaJen December 17, 2011 at 8:18 pm #

    This is beautiful. I love you and Blaise.

  3. Marina December 17, 2011 at 9:16 pm #

    Your damn right!!!!!!!!Love your posts..keep them coming they are inspiring me:)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Smell the Roses by Rachel Pastiloff « Manifestation Station - December 17, 2011

    […] the Roses. (This is a beautiful post by my sister about stopping to enjoy the NOW. She talks about being a pare… Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

Leave a Reply

