You have got to have soul

18 Dec

Tonight’s blog is dedicated to Bethany Hamilton

Last night while I was lying in bed with my kids the movie “Soul Surfer” came on. I had heard of the movie but never watched it before. I just decided to leave it on, and I am so glad that I did. Although I am sure that the creative minds behind the film added some things to the story it is mostly all true. If there is a movie that you all must see it is this. Ok, it is not going to win any academy awards, but it is the story that is AMAZING.

When Bethany was 13 years and on the verge of becoming a professional surfer she was attacked by a shark. In an instant her arm was ripped clean off of her body. Can you imagine how hard it must be to surf with one arm? I can’t even surf with 2 arms and 2 legs.

This girl has the most amazing spirit. Within hours of waking up from the attack she was the one telling her family it was all going to be ok. Within a month of the attack, she was back in the water surfing. HELLO!!!!!!!!! I was watching the movie with tears in my eyes.

Not long after her accident she traveled to Indonesia after the Tsunami to offer aid. While there she began teaching the kids to surf, again not even a year after losing her arm.

Bethany has gone on to become one of the top ranking female surfers in the world, a humanitarian, an author, and a mentor to thousands of amputee victims. This is seriously one of the most amazing people I have ever seen in my life.

I watched her and thought to myself. If a 13 year old girl can lose her arm to a shark and be back surfing in a month, then what is my excuse.

Bethany has soul and lots of it. She always talked about loving the water, loving to surf not to win, but just because she loved it.

We need to take a lesson from Bethany. We need to do things in our life because we love it, not because we have to.

We need to have more soul and more integrity in our lives.

I intend to have lots of soul. I intend to do things that make me happy. I will never work at a job I hate because I need money, I will do something that I love.

I will never force my children to do something that they don’t love. I want my children to enjoy their lives. I want their souls to guide them, like Bethany’s soul guided her.

So dear readers. Stop wasting time doing what is required and start doing what is in your heart!

2 Responses to “You have got to have soul”

  1. Maria Eliza Flores March 16, 2012 at 8:30 pm #

    There is a very similar story about Amy Purdy!
    Enjoy!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. You have got to have soul « Manifestation Station - December 18, 2011

    […] You have got to have soul. (Another great post by the fab Rachel. To quote her “I intend to have lots of soul. I intend t… […]

Leave a Reply

