Happy Birthday Blaise!

2 Jan

5 YEARS AGO BLASIE WAS BORN…

I CAN’T BELIEVE HOW FAR HE HAS COME

On January 3rd 2007 after 27 hours of labor Blaise Major Owings came into the world. He was the most beautiful thing I had ever seen in my life.

On the morning of his 2nd day of life they came and told me he was going to the NICU. Also at the exact same time they told me to get in the bathroom, “There is a tornado headed right for us, you need to get in the bathroom now!”

I honestly could have cared less about the tornado, I wanted my baby boy.

After 11 long days in the NICU he finally came home. We had a rough start but finally after 2 months we were finally on our way, or so we thought.

We knew that Blaise had some problems from the beginning. We started him in PT at 6 months, we thought that was enough.

Little did we know that on the morning of September 9th, 2009 our lives would change forever. That was the morning we got the diagnosis of Prader-Willi Syndrome.

I thought my world had ended that morning. Little did I know that it was just the beginning of a crazy journey. What a blessing his dx was, it was the beginning of a new and better life for Blaise.

Now I look at this amazing and determined 5 year old and think,”I am the luckiest mom in the world.”

My son has given me more purpose in life than I could have ever imagined. He has given me more determination that I could have ever had on my own. He gives me hope that tomorrow will always be a better day. Blaise really does live for the moment. I learn more from him than I could in any self help book in Barnes and Noble.

I had no idea when I gave birth to Blaise that 5 years later I would get a crash course in genetics, bio-chemistry, nutrition, sensory diets, physical therapy training, occupational therapy training, speech therapy training, autism behavior training, and let’s not forget learning all about brain chemistry, neurotransmitters, enzymes, hormones and well everything else that your body does and needs to do.

My days are filled with meal planning and melt downs and therapy appointments and doctor visits.

I wouldn’t change it or him for the world. Yes, I pray for a cure for PWS so that Blaise can live a life free of pain, but he is who he is because of PWS/Autism/Sensory Processing Disorders and as of late a new dx of Non-Verbal learning disorder.

All these things make him who he is, make him the determined little man he is growing up to be.

He is blessed to have amazing grand-parents, aunts and uncles and lots of friends who love and support him.

Jona and I are lucky to have a son who came into this world to teach us, and to show us how to be the best parents and people possible.

I love you Blaise. Happy Birthday.

Thank you for making my life worth living.

What better 3 words could there be than these…

HAPPY BIRTHDAY BLAISE!!!!!!!

6 Responses to “Happy Birthday Blaise!”

  1. barbarapotter January 2, 2012 at 8:33 pm #

    My heart tugs when I read this. I remember the moment he was born and holding my first-born grandson that beautiful child in my arms. I remember the next morning them taking him away and nothing can describe the heartbreak of that. The not-knowing, the waiting around the clock for the few minutes they let us hold him. Fast forward five years and he is still that most beautiful precious boy that gives us all joy. Happy Birthday to you Blaisey. Wish I were in Georgia to hold you. Love, love, love. your mom-mom aka mom. I know there will be a cure for the pain you feel everyday. I believe, I believe, I believe.

  2. Jack Potter January 2, 2012 at 8:58 pm #

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY BLAISE..WE KNOW A CURE WILL COME, JUST KEEP FIGHTING..YOU HAVE MADE SO MUCH PROGRESS MOST DO NOT KNOW YOU HAVE A PROBLEM.. YOU WILL BE THE POSTER BOY FOR PWS POPPY JACK

  3. ManifestYogaJen January 3, 2012 at 7:17 am #

    I love you so much Blaise man!!! Happy bday big boy!

  4. Hope Martin January 3, 2012 at 10:46 am #

    Happy Birthday little man!!!!

  5. Stormy January 3, 2012 at 11:26 am #

    Happy Birthday to sweet, amazing Blaise!

  6. ella chissotti January 3, 2012 at 7:00 pm #

    Blaise is a lucky boy to have such a strong and amazing mother like you too! I like the line ” i learn more from him than in any Self Hel book in Barnes and Nobles ” , so true , i feel that way about my son too- 5 is a great age, enjoy every day every moment, celebrate the birthday every day of the year. Happy Birthday Blaise, you are a great inspiration to all those around you, have soooo much fun on your birthday-love and light-ella*

Leave a Reply

