The Simple Life, The Good Life

9 Jan

The Simple Life….

I am not a simple person, but I want to live a simple life.

I spent the majority of my life living in California. Much of my younger years, and then most of my twenties, was spent in Southern California. Living near the beach you learn one thing, you will be living in an apartment, unless you are really rich. Nobody cared. You were just excited if you had a decent size apartment. Everybody made their apartments feel like home, complete with awesome crafty ways to decorate small spaces. When I moved to the bay area in California I realized you had even less space there. If you choose to live in San Francisco then you are lucky if you get a place as big as a closet. Again, most people are happy with even that.

So when I moved to Georgia it was a huge shock to see all the big houses that were commonplace here. Eventually I too would live in one of those big houses. Not only do people have huge houses here but lots and lots of lands to go with them. Throw in the beautiful well manicured lawns and you have reached your suburban heaven.

I realized shortly before we moved from our house that I was falling into the “keeping up with Joneses” trap. I was always trying to “be” like my friends, have my house look like theirs, have like them…have like them..want…want…and so on and so on.

Okay, so cut to six months later. I have such a different perspective on life. I am getting back to who I was before moving here. Happy to live in a small space. Happy to live as I was raised to live, to be happy with what I have, to appreciate all that I have worked for.

It really dawned on me today while I was playing outside with my new baby goats. I want a simple life. I want less, so I can live more. I really enjoy having a MUCH smaller house payment, no complaints here. I really enjoy having a smaller house, and MORE land to play on. I really enjoy having my whole family work outside in our yard as a team.

So what is the end goal? Well, my end goal is this.

ACQUIRE LESS=LIVE MORE

I dont’ want a nine million dollar mortgage payment for the next THIRTY YEARS. Get a smaller house for less money, owe less.

I don’t need a new car every 3 years. Drive the same car as long as it runs and save money.

Get chickens. Save money on organic eggs and get them yourself at home, with the added benefit of pleasure for your kids.

Grow your own vegetables at home. Save a ton of money at the store and make your own organics at home. Get a killer workout for free.

I really could go on and on forever. I just realize that you can live more when you don’t keep adding those “expensive” big things to your life.

Why do you really need a four-thousand square foot home? Why do you need to have four cars when only 2 people drive? Why do your kids need to wear designer clothes(hello for me this is a no brainer, my kids are MESSY!) why waste the money.

I am on a mission to simplify my life. I am on a mission to keep our debt down and our happiness high. The less you are indebted to in your life the more freedom you have.

If we didn’t have the need to “have” so much, we wouldn’t need to work so hard. We could spend more time at home with our kids. We could go home and visit our families more often. We could spend more time volunteering at our kids schools. We could actually eat dinner together as a family more than just one night a week.

I know for a lot of my friends the thought of downsizing is a fate worse than death. I know that for a lot of people they think it means that they will have to “give up” everything they have.

I know this one thing for sure. I have NOT given up ANYTHING. Instead, I have gained EVERYTHING.

I am so excited about our futures. I don’t live in fear of the future. I welcome it, because in my future SIMPLE rules. In my future my children spend tons of time with their mom and dad. In my future we aren’t burdened by huge amount of financial stress. In my future we have freedom to LIVE, live the life we want, not the life chosen for us.

So my path is clear. SIMPLIFY, SIMPLIFY, SIMPLIFY.

Oh, yes one more thing. I know in order to simplify I must learn to organize. That will be an entirely different entry entitled “The Most Un-Organized Girl in the World Gets Organized” Ha!

2 Responses to “The Simple Life, The Good Life”

  1. ManifestYogaJen January 9, 2012 at 10:06 pm #

    You are awesome you CM xo

  2. Alicia January 10, 2012 at 2:29 am #

    Great post Rach! You rock!

Leave a Reply

