Welcome to Holland

10 Jan

I am so proud of my son….

I LOVE HOLLAND

BEST 3 WORDS EVER!

If you are the parent of a child with special needs you know how important the little things are. You know how those little things are huge victories for us, huge battles that we have won.

I was in awe today as I watched my son. He continues to just blow my mind all the time. I don’t care what anybody says to me about what he can or can’t do. I watch him climb mountains everyday.

I watch out the window as my sons dashes across the yard to see his roosters. I follow him outside in time to get in the chicken coop with him. I watch as he walks up to the biggest hen and just picks her right up.

No fear whatsoever. I sit quietly and observe him as he sits down and spends time with his animals. He feels so much love for them. I watch as he runs outside to see his goats next, lovingly giving them an afternoon hello. A smile runs across his face that could light up a room. He is just as comfortable outside as he is inside playing legos.

I am always in awe when I watch my son with his IPAD. It is mind-blowing, really. This child can do anything on the IPAD. I don’t just mean apps. He uses the internet, YouTube, and Facebook. He can work wonders on the phone as well. He can get the phone and tell me that he wants to call my mom. He goes to the call log, scrolls through and finds her name. He can do this with all his family members numbers on my phone.

This child was born with some mean guitar playing skills. This kid was born with the music in him. He can jam on the drums, play the piano, strum the guitar, and sing. Wow, he is a one man band.

This may seem like nothing to many of you. This may seem like small potatoes. Not to me.

We have also had some major victories in the last few months. If you are the parent of a child with special needs, or you have friends or family with kids with special needs than you can appreciate this. For many of us getting our children potty trained is a big deal. For children with PWS it can be a really long time before your child uses the potty, let alone sleep without a diaper at night. I was one of the lucky ones. Blaise has been potty trained since he was 3, but not at night. I thought this would be a battle we would fight forever. NOPE. Shortly before his 5th birthday he said no more diapers at night. We haven’t had any problems since.

Second big battle. My son who has “low tone” and poor fine motor control is learning to dress himself, and doing a good job at it too. For me it is a proud moment to watch my son dress himself, it is one more step of freedom for him.

Listen, I write all of this down for this reason; don’t listen to what anybody tells you that your child is capable of doing. What do they know. Children have spirits that are unmatched by anything I have ever seen in this world. Children can move mountains with their will and determination. I have been blessed to have an amazing doctor for Blaise who always tells me that he has and will continue to have a great life. Thank you Dr. Miller 😉 But, I will never forget…I won’t forget the therapist who told me that Blaise would never be on the track team. I said to him, “sure he could.” He said to me, “well, he’ll never be the track star.” I was devastated. I wanted to rip his head off. I thought to myself, “Who the hell are you to determine Blaise’s future?” I am glad I never listened to that person. I practice one thing with Blaise. I will always push him, but I let him do things at his own pace. He has to have time to figure things out, to figure himself out. I nurture him in that way. I am so glad that he is who he is, he is one bad ass kid. I am one lucky mom.

So tonight on Facebook my friend posted this video. It is of one of my favorite poems of all time. As much as I love the poem, I love this guy reading it so much more. I love everything about this piece. It represents my life completely.

So here it is. Please watch. Welcome to Holland.

Beautiful Words.

3 Responses to “Welcome to Holland”

  1. Barbara potter January 10, 2012 at 10:55 pm #

    So beautifully written Rach. A way to show the world the beautiful precious angel that is our Blaise. So proud of him and proud of the mother that you are.

  2. Stormy January 10, 2012 at 11:52 pm #

    Love you guys and so proud of how far you gave come!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Welcome to Holland « Manifestation Station - January 11, 2012

    […] doctor for Blaise who always tells me that he has and will continue to have a great life. ” Click here to read more. Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

Leave a Reply

