A Love Letter

7 Feb

Swami Kripalvananda said,

“My beloved child, break your heart no longer. Every time you judge yourself you break your own heart.”

I heard this quote on my fantastic journey in Mexico. It has resonated with me ever since I heard those words ring through my ears.

While on my trip to Mexico many people said things to me that I haven’t heard or felt in a long time. I started to think about how interesting it is to examine how I see myself versus how others see me.

During the course of the trip I realized just how uncomfortable I was when people would say something kind to me.

Even more so was the mirror exercise we did in our practice. We were to sit in front of the mirror and stare at ourselves, look into our own eyes. I closed my eyes both times. I really couldn’t look at myself. It was such a challenge for me. It is easy I really like who I am on the inside, but struggle with loving my outer self. This is a true conflict, these two things can not exist together.

I will practice this more often with my eyes open

So here I am post Mexico and I am in love. Yes, I am madly and deeply in love with myself. 😉

I decided there was no better way to profess my love than to write myself a love letter. I will look at this letter every time I am having a down day, or I start to judge myself. I will read my love letter and be reminded of why I love being me.

Dear Rachel,

I wanted to write you a love letter to express my gratitude for you. Yes, you are really perfect just the way you are. Nobody really cares if you have short legs or wide hips, they really don’t’ see that when they look at you. Yes, you talk a lot, but you know how to have a great conversation and engage people. This is a quality that is uniquely you. You are a determined and strong woman. This will be the year that your dreams are realized, you already have taken the right steps. Dearest Rachel, remember the feeling you had when your article was just published on the Project Happiness website. Remember how you were deeply proud of yourself. You deserve it, you are talented. People enjoy reading what you have to say. Remember how it felt to have your sister call you and tell you how proud she was of you. Remember how those words filled you up inside and made you smile from ear to ear. You really are doing amazing things and it ok to acknowledge it to yourself. It is okay to say that you are awesome. Don’t forget to keep on laughing, and being funny. Laughter is the best medicine. Keep practicing your yoga everyday. Come back to prayer and repeat your mantra every time with conviction.

I am courageous.

You are. Keep being yourself. This is what will truly bring you happiness in life. Don’t forget to be as adventurous as you were in Mexico. Put yourself out there and don’t be afraid. If you fail the first time just laugh at yourself and try again. Most importantly show love to yourself. Take care of yourself. Treat yourself with kindness and dignity. If you are not full of love for yourself than you can’t love others around you. Always remember that you are worth it.

Love always,

Me

6 Responses to “A Love Letter”

  1. Dottie Wagner February 7, 2012 at 9:28 pm #

    I love this and also loved your post about your experience in Mexico!! You have inspired me to work up the courage to write a love letter to myself. Thanks!

  2. ManifestYogaJen February 8, 2012 at 12:10 am #

    This is so beautiful and brave

  3. James Vincent Knowles February 8, 2012 at 12:19 am #

    You deserve The Bronze Star … wow. Inspiring, courageous, honest, open, real, human. (& frankly, i find tremendously encouraging the mirror thing. Someday I’ll reveal why)!

    Cheers!

  4. Cary February 8, 2012 at 10:10 am #

    Wow, Jennifer, beautiful letter and you have no idea how blessed you are to have a sister!!! Thanks for sharing this because there is somebody out there that should read this that we are all WORTHY no matter how different we are to others!!! 🙂

    Bravo, C~

  5. Sabrina at MyMiBoSo February 10, 2012 at 1:56 am #

    This is so lovely, as are you! Your spirit shines Rachel and I’m grateful for your courage and creativity to share it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Love Letter « Manifestation Station - February 8, 2012

    […] […]

Leave a Reply

