Reasons, Seasons and Lifetimes

11 Feb

Reason, Season, or Lifetime

People come into your life for a reason, a season or a lifetime.
When you figure out which one it is,
you will know what to do for each person.

When someone is in your life for a REASON,
it is usually to meet a need you have expressed.
They have come to assist you through a difficulty;
to provide you with guidance and support;
to aid you physically, emotionally or spiritually.
They may seem like a godsend, and they are.
They are there for the reason you need them to be.

Then, without any wrongdoing on your part or at an inconvenient time,
this person will say or do something to bring the relationship to an end.
Sometimes they die. Sometimes they walk away.
Sometimes they act up and force you to take a stand.
What we must realize is that our need has been met, our desire fulfilled; their work is done.
The prayer you sent up has been answered and now it is time to move on.

Some people come into your life for a SEASON,
because your turn has come to share, grow or learn.
They bring you an experience of peace or make you laugh.
They may teach you something you have never done.
They usually give you an unbelievable amount of joy.
Believe it. It is real. But only for a season.

LIFETIME relationships teach you lifetime lessons;
things you must build upon in order to have a solid emotional foundation.
Your job is to accept the lesson, love the person,
and put what you have learned to use in all other relationships and areas of your life.
It is said that love is blind but friendship is clairvoyant.

— Unknown

After I dyed my hair red yesterday I was in a great mood.

I was in a great mood and the singing and dancing commenced. One of my favorite songs came on it was by the artist Maxwell and the song was “This Woman’s Work.” I was immediately flooded with memories. This ballad induced a massive amount of tears to start flowing from my freshly made up smokey eyes.

I was 19 years old again. I was living in Los Angeles, I was dating the man who I thought was the love of my life. I remember playing this tape over and over again as I drove to Palm Springs on the weekend to visit him. I remembered the pain I felt shortly after  the love of my life told me it was over. I was devastated. I remember the words he said to me that night in December, two weeks before my birthday. He said, “I love you, but I am not in love with you. ”

I am 34 years old and I FINALLY GET IT!

I have had many break-ups in my life. I always remember feeling so dejected when I was the one being let go. I would question myself, “What did I do wrong?”  This theory goes for friendships as well as romances.

I no longer question myself when these things happen.

The poem I started off with articulates my feelings in the most beautiful way. We all are meant to meet people in our lives. No matter what the time frame there is always a lesson to attain.

Driving in my car I realized there was this dynamic shift occurring. It was something I had yet to experience before. What is the reason for our lives colliding in the first place?

For the first time I’ve made a choice to see these circumstances in a different light.

What if I was here to teach them a lesson?

What if I was a reason or a season for them?

It was crazy, mind-blowing, life altering. It was a tidal wave. I now had complete closure in my head about all the people who I felt left my life too soon. In an instant all the hurt that I had felt for years left.

I no longer have a story attached to all the relationships in my life that had taken a “wrong” turn.

It struck me some time back that I have this great desire to do more, to be of service to more people.  How can I play a bigger role in the world?

As the tears rolled down my red cheeks I thought to myself, “If I am just a season or a reason than how can I make that small amount of time mean something more?” “How can I make an impact on the lives of others, how can I leave a lasting footprint?”

I want my time here on earth to be something spectacular. I want my life to be bigger than my physical self. So even if I am just a fleeting moment in somebody’s life, that is ok.

As long as it was worth it.

This concept brings me much peace. It motivates me on a grand scale to reach out and go big!

I realize that all those people did teach me amazing and valuable lessons, and the best part, I taught them some lessons too.

What is so fascinating to me about this metamorphosis I had in my car,  listening to old music is this; we are 100% capable of changing our life experiences just by renovating our thoughts.

We can have all of these self-destructive thoughts that fill our head like poisonous venom, or we can choose to do something contrary to our learned auto pilot thought process.

I don’t know if it is my trip to Mexico, or that fact that I am getting older, but I feel as if I am finally  in control of my past, present and my future.

I know with every ounce of my inner being that the people I shared my magical Mexico with have impacted my life FOREVER. They helped to awaken a part of me that has been asleep for way too long. I love you all so very much.

I will see the past for what it was, I will embrace and live every moment of my present, and I will thank the universe in advance for my future.

So I want to say thank you to all of the people who I have been blessed to have met in my life. Thank you to all the folks who were here for a reason or a season, and thank you to all the folks who have chosen to stay for the long ride of a lifetime.

I love you.

I am left with a smile on my face tonight!

I am utterly invigorated  right now.

I will never stop trying to be a first-rate version of myself.

2 Responses to “Reasons, Seasons and Lifetimes”

  1. Deb June 30, 2012 at 8:09 pm #

    As I was reading your story, the song For Good from Wicked started playing. Thanks to you and that song for coming together at the same time, I understand the reason for my beloved friendship with someone I cherish. He has made me see and believe that I am lovable, special, and an amazing woman. If it were a different time, he might have been a lifetime person for me, but I love him for being in my life for a reason.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Reasons, Seasons and Lifetimes « Manifestation Station - February 11, 2012

    […] Another gem from my sister Rachel. Click here to read entire entry. […]

Leave a Reply

