Just Do It!

17 Feb

I love this new chapter of my life….

There comes a time in everyone’s life where you just have to throw caution to the wind and say WHAT THE HELL….

There comes a time when you just have to say

I am at that time in my life.

In the last 6 months I said what the hell and….

CUT ALL OF MY HAIR OFF

DYED MY HAIR BLONDE

LEFT MY KIDS FOR AN ENTIRE WEEK TO TRAVEL TO MEXICO

SIGNED UP TO DO YOGA TEACHER TRAINING

STARTED WRITING A BLOG

AND…

STARTED LOVING MYSELF

I figure there is no better time to start living my life than RIGHT NOW!

I have for years let fear run my life. I have let fear take over me like the poisonous venom of a diamond back rattlesnake.

Fear of everything. I was afraid to write for fear it wouldn’t be good enough. Afraid to travel for fear my children wouldn’t be ok without me. Afraid to go out and try something new for fear that others would laugh at me.

This is my fear journal entry from Mexico.

In reality it’s ok to not be great at everything. It is ok to be a beginner at something, and it’s definitely ok to be imperfect.

In reality nobody is hanging on your every step in life. They are too busy living their own.

I am currently reading Brene Brown’s book “The Gifts of Imperfection.” It is brilliant. 

I am embracing my imperfections, living with my whole heart, and letting my courage guide me.

I am willing to make mistakes, look foolish, and not succeed on the first attempt.

What I am NOT willing to do anymore is:

LET FEAR CONTROL ANYMORE OF MY LIFE AND ENERGY

LET FEAR KEEP ME FROM LIVING MY BEST LIFE

LET FEAR KEEP ME FROM BEING A FIRST RATE VERSION OF MYSELF

Tonight I had the time to catch up on reading my sister Jennifer’s blog.

I began reading the Q & A Series with Sarah DeAnna author of Model Skinny.

WOW!!!

Inspiring. Motivating. Honest. This is the best way to describe this article.

This excerpt spoke so loudly to me,  it took my breath away.

That we really are ALL beautiful! We should not compare ourselves or judge ourselves against another. It would be better to use those feelings of “jealousy and envy” as inspiration to inspire us to the action that will lead us manifest whatever we find ourselves coveting in another. For example, if we find ourselves jealous of another person’s body, let that inspire us to work out more, or eat healthier, take better care of ourselves, or realize how beautiful our body really is.

This is a plan of action. To see the things that I find beautiful in others and let that inspire me. I love this concept.

I plan to Just Do It. I will GO FOR IT.

I will see the possibilities that are around me at all times.

3 Responses to “Just Do It!”

  1. James Vincent Knowles February 17, 2012 at 9:40 pm #

    Beautiful Rachel. Very well said. Very well done. You are beautiful indeed. And you inspire me! Amazing how that works~! Namaste

  2. Barbara Potter February 17, 2012 at 10:19 pm #

    So proud of you. Love you

  3. modelskinny February 18, 2012 at 12:30 pm #

    Wow! Thank you Rachel! Your sister told me so much about you and your experience in Mexico! We, (everyone she tells) are all proud of YOU! I’m so excited for your next chapter! I’ll be watching, we’ll be watching… XoXo, LoVe, SarahDeAnna

Leave a Reply

