I got lots of wisdom…..

1 Mar

Tonight is the eve of my wisdom tooth surgery….

and I am not the least bit nervous, or I wasn’t until an hour ago

I am not really nervous, just the reality is setting in that I am having 5 teeth removed tomorrow morning.

I am actually really happy to be having this surgery. It feels amazing to finally be taking care of myself and my health.As a parent, and particularly the parent of a special needs child, I tend to be the last on the list of health maintenance.I have really begun to realize that my health is crucial, my health is actually the most important. If I am to be a good mother to my children then I must take care of myself. If I continue to neglect my body then who will be around to care for my children when my body gives out.

Tonight’s blog is really very short. It has been a very long day. Up since 4am and running on fumes right now.

An important side note of the day.

I made it through with no smoking.

Oh yeah onto day 2 tomorrow of being smoke free. Feeling really good right now. I am feeling really proud of myself.

I am happy, not moody and ready to tackle tomorrow and be successful.

I am not quite sure I will blog tomorrow. It will all depend on how well I can type on the pain meds.

I welcome anybody who wants to offer encouragement and support on my smoke free journey.

I am so excited about this chapter of my life. I love taking care of myself so that I can be the best version of me.

My goal is always to be a first-rate version of myself.

7 Responses to “I got lots of wisdom…..”

  1. Barbara Potter March 1, 2012 at 8:09 pm #

    Remember one small step at a time. Each hour you say I got through one hour and each hour same the same. Little pcs make it so much easier You can do it I know:)

  2. jamesvincentknowles March 1, 2012 at 8:34 pm #

    God how I LOVE your attitude, Rachel. You’re a brave girl & you are sooooooo right about your health ~ huge part of loving one’s self~! Encouragement … Boom~!

  3. Dottie Wagner March 1, 2012 at 10:56 pm #

    Congrats on your smoke free day!!! Breaking habits is soooo hard, and especially those physically addicting ones. I know because I quit drinking almost 5 years ago. One day at a time sounds a bit cliche, but is really true. All you have to do is get through the day you are in and you will have accomplished something huge. And if you don’t, remember that each day is a new beginning and don’t beat yourself up. I love reading your blog! You are so honest, genuine, positive, full of joy, strong, courageous…I could go on and on! You can do this!! Think how much better your yoga teacher training will be with smoke free lungs! By the way, I just met your sister last weekend here in Austin when she did her workshop. She is amazing too!! Your mom did a wonderful job raising you two. Keep writing, loving, practicing, meditating, doing all of those things that bring you peace and calm.

  4. ManifestYogaJen March 1, 2012 at 10:57 pm #

    You are amazing. You can do this. Love you.

  5. Aunt Honey March 1, 2012 at 11:52 pm #

    Rach, I put down my cigarettes 23 years ago and never picked one up again. It is a lot easier than you think and look on the bright side, you will be saving soo much money!!!. On another note, Lexi had all 4 of her wisdom teeth extracted last Tuesday and she pulled through like a trooper. You will be fine tomorrow. Love you. Aunt Honey.

  6. Barbara potter March 2, 2012 at 12:07 am #

    Love you too Aunt Honey

  7. icanseealotoflifeinyou March 2, 2012 at 4:23 pm #

    i smoked for about 15 years and quit about 3 years ago. this is what helped me: when you have a craving, try telling yourself,”this will pass! if you are still just dying for a cigarette in 20 minutes, we’ll talk. but you’re going to be fine.” and by the time 20 min pass, you ARE fine.

    also, as a nonsmoker now, i can’t get over how GROSS smokers smell. i’m not always spraying myself with perfume and hoping people can’t smell it (and of course, EVERYONE can smell a smoker in a heartbeat). now i treat myself to liquid fabric softener (a luxury in my book). good luck. you can do it!!!

Leave a Reply

