Maria Lin: 6 Things You Don’t Know About a Special Needs Parent

10 Mar

Yesterday as I scrolled through Facebook I came across an article posted by numerous friends.

The title struck me, “6 Things You Don’t Know about a Special Needs Parent.”

I must read this I am a Special Needs Parent. I opened the article up immediately, wow!


This article was beautiful and spoke to me, and for me.  I am not the only one. I lost count at how many times the article posted  online.

I read the article and it hit me immediately. I tapped into exactly why this article was so important, why it was touching so many lives. It goes back to what the amazing storyteller and researcher Brene Brown writes in her books and shares in her videos.

We all need to feel connected, we all want a sense of belonging.

This article does all that. For the millions of moms and dads who raise special needs kids it is a reminder that we are not alone. Then the icing on the cake is the connection that you feel to the author, and even greater the millions of others who feel as you do.

1. I am tired. Parenting is already an exhausting endeavor. But parenting a special needs child takes things to another level of fatigue. Even if I’ve gotten a good night’s sleep, or have had some time off, there is a level of emotional and physical tiredness that is always there, that simply comes from the weight of tending to those needs.

via Maria Lin: 6 Things You Don’t Know About a Special Needs Parent.

I read this brilliant article and immediately wanted to know who was this amazing woman, I had to find out. I immediately tracked her down on twitter and beyond. I found her private email and sent her a letter straight away. I want to be friends with this poetic writer of special needs truths, this everyday normal mom just like me.

Who is Maria Lin?

Maria Lin is the editor in chief of LearnVest, the preeminent website for women and their money, where she writes about money, time and human behaviors. She was the co-founder of cult lifestyle site UrbanDaddy, and has written for publications such asReal SimpleNew York magazine, Time Out New York, and has appeared in The Washington PostABC NewsFox Business NewsThe Wall Street Journal, and theBBC. She graduated from Swarthmore College and Berkeley Law School, and attended the Columbia Graduate School of Journalism. She lives in Manhattan with her son. www.marialin.com

She blew me away. She wrote back. She was kind and humble. I asked if I could share her blog and she said, “YES!” I am so thrilled.

If you are one of the few people who hasn’t read this article please take the time to do so now.

Parents of special needs children will rejoice that you are not alone.

Even if you don’t have a child with special needs, this article will open your eyes and your hearts to our everyday struggles.

Thank you so much Maria Lin. You have made so many families feel a sense of connection and belonging. I am so very grateful for that!

5 Responses to “Maria Lin: 6 Things You Don’t Know About a Special Needs Parent”

  1. barbarapotter March 10, 2012 at 6:46 pm #

    Wow Rach thanks for sharing this. Beautiful article. Love the honesty and the fact that she can really reach out to let others know what it is like to walk in the shoes of a special needs mom.

    • rachyrachp March 10, 2012 at 6:50 pm #

      Mom, it is written so well. She is amazing. I had to write her and tell her so immediately after I read her work. What a great way to help shine a light on our “everyday” lives.

  2. Marina B. Tasarra March 10, 2012 at 10:20 pm #

    I praise the LORD for this wonderful article! Facing the truth always sets one free.

  3. sofiareddy April 22, 2012 at 7:18 am #

    Brene Brown was my academic advisor at University of Houston School of Social Work! She is amazing, inspiring, empowering! I love her! I haven’t been in contact with her since I graduated in 2004, but this reminds me to stay strong, follow my heart and live with passion. She is a positive and inspiring role model! Thank you for sharing and keep living life passionately!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Maria Lin: 6 Things You Don’t Know About a Special Needs Parent « Manifestation Station - March 11, 2012

    […] tiredness that is always there, that simply comes from the weight of tending to those needs. Click here to read full article  via Rachel Pastiloff Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

Leave a Reply

