Who is that?

17 May

As I was leaving the house yesterday I quickly looked at myself in the mirror. I had a definite new and rather strange experience. I truly did  not recognize myself. Not a bad thing or a good thing, just a fact. I really didn’t see myself in that mirror. I saw myself but a very different version of myself.

 

I looked calm and relaxed. I looked older, but not that my face had aged, rather that my eyes seemed wiser. It is as if I had shed the skin which had become like a hard outer shell. I know it sounds hippy dippy to many of you, but it was the real deal for me. I absolutely felt as if something that had its grip on me for many years had  released me.

It struck me yesterday that I have not looked at myself in the mirror and rejected what I saw in a long while. That brought a huge smile to my face. I am truly exhibiting love for myself.

 

You can’t give from what you don’t have. If I don’t practice love for myself than I can’t love those around me.

I have spent the last two weeks sharing with my children how we can practice loving speech with those around us. I want to be a shining example for not only my kids but my friends and the people in my community. I am here to cultivate the changes that I want to see. I realized that they start with me and so that is why I got busy doing the work I had to on myself.

I have had some very challenging weeks lately, but I am grateful for them all. I am grateful for all the experiences in my life that help me remember who I am and how I am always able to evolve.

4 Responses to “Who is that?”

  1. barbarapotter May 18, 2012 at 1:26 am #

    So proud of you and I love who you are.

  2. nikky44 May 19, 2012 at 1:03 pm #

    beautiful post!! Shared it!

  3. jamesvincentknowles May 21, 2012 at 3:48 pm #

    You are beautiful, Rachel. And you are the most valuable being in the Universe. Namaste.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Who is that? « Manifestation Station - May 17, 2012

    […] Click here.  […]

Leave a Reply

