Sticks and Stones

31 May

I believe there must come a time in your life when you can just shake it off.

This is all part of my master plan.

I am sure this is all part of the path of enlightenment. You can still feel pain, joy and so on and so forth, but you are unshaken. On your journey I suppose you will eventually be grounded as deeply as a 300 year old oak trees roots in the ground.

Apparently I am not there yet! I had a beautiful yoga practice today followed by a not so beautiful conversation that left me sick to my stomach and tied up in knots. I chose to let this conversation affect me. I also didn’t meditate today so my fuse was obviously much shorter.

I am ready after 34 years to be the ruler of my life and not give my power away so easily to others. When somebody dumps on us, or takes away from us, and we LET it upset us, then we just gave them all the power. So, clearly I have lots of work to do.

As I drove away from my ass kicking beautiful practice I realized I had just be stolen from. My joy was ripped out of my arms like a piece of grass pulled up in a tornado. Yes, I allowed it, but none the less it was stolen.

So this brings right back to my yoga training. I am taking it all in, including the Yoga Sutras.

Asteya: Is the Yama for non-stealing. There are many ways to steal, some subtle and some not so subtle. It was most clear to me that my moment, my day, my joy was stolen today.

I will continue my meditation practice, my asana practice, my pranayama practice and growing my roots. I am on the path, it just takes time.

3 Responses to “Sticks and Stones”

  1. barbarapotter May 31, 2012 at 7:41 pm #

    I know it is a hard road but I see you making so much progress. You will succeed.

  2. jamesvincentknowles May 31, 2012 at 11:52 pm #

    Amazing, Rachel . . . just want to validate and encourage you by noticing you didn’t mention anyone’s name nor did you cast blame on another. In fact, you aren’t even blaming yourself here, you’re empowering yourself tremendously. Congratulations on the leaps and bounds of spiritual growth~! namaste

  3. nikky44 June 3, 2012 at 4:29 am #

    I do give my power to others all the time and it hurts so much. i am trying to learn how to stop that

Leave a Reply

