What’s it Like?

11 Jun

What is it like to be me?

What is it like to be a “special needs mom”

What is it like to struggle?

What is it like to ask for help?

What is it like to go after your dream?

What is it like to be so in love with your kids, that your heart beats wildly every time you see them?

WHAT IS IT LIKE TO BE YOU?

I sit and think questions like this all the time. Every time I see people walking down the street. I think to myself, “What is their life like?” “Who are they?” “What is their purpose in life?”

I am beginning on my journey, feeling purposeful, and proud. It is an amazing feeling.

I think about how I speak to my children on a much deeper level. I make eye contact with people when I speak to them. I smile and say hello to all those I encounter during the day. I make an effort every day to live a life that means something.

Today little guy went to skate at the park while big guy and I went to handle medical stuff. I went back to the park and watched my 3 year old in a park full of older kids skating his heart out and being loved by all. I decided to leave him with daddy and I took big guy home. We came home and sat in silence for almost an hour. He was learning math and letters on his IPAD as I read the Yoga Sutras. It was completely quiet and peaceful in my house, and then I read this line in my book:

Nothing in all creation is so like God as silence –Meister Eckhart

I thought it was such a beautiful line for such a beautiful moment.

So what’s it like to be me? Well, simply put, mostly crazy but I live such a full life.

I am grateful, are you?

For me it boils down to simply one thought process.

I want to live a conscious life.

I want to think before I speak. I want to make an impact in the world. I want all the moments in my life to have meaning.

I OWN MY LIFE!

9 Responses to “What’s it Like?”

  1. jamesvincentknowles June 11, 2012 at 7:07 pm #

    ~in the silence, we are free to be happy as happiness is in us always. it requires no effort. blessed be they who know this for they will help heal all those around them with tranquil grace and the gentle integrity of their kindness~

  2. ManifestYogaJen June 12, 2012 at 12:50 am #

    this is so beautfiful

  3. barbarapotter June 12, 2012 at 1:12 am #

    I love what you wrote. So beautiful.

    • Jackie June 12, 2012 at 1:17 pm #

      I agree. I too want to live a conscious life.

  4. nikky44 June 13, 2012 at 2:50 am #

    very beautiful post!!!

  5. Nori Fox June 24, 2012 at 6:21 pm #

    Whats it like to be a single special needs parent? One of my five children is severely autistic so “Enjoy the Silence” is something I will most likely never experience. My life is amazing chaos…and its mine.

    • rachyrachp June 26, 2012 at 5:22 pm #

      I am not single, but my husband works many hours so I am home alone most days. I suspect my little one is also autistic like big brother. Enjoy the Silence is so very rare for me. Yoga and meditation have saved my sanity.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What’s it Like? « Manifestation Station - June 12, 2012

    […] Click here to read the rest…… Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  2. Eckhart Tolle on Presence | avicenna2020 - June 13, 2012

    […] What’s it Like? (3wordsfor365.com) Share this:TwitterFacebookLinkedInStumbleUponTumblrLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

Leave a Reply

