Successful Summer Days

19 Jun

I was so worried when the summer was approaching about what I would do with the kids. I worried that I would not be able to find things to do with my kids ALL summer long. I worried about the heat, and not being able to take Blaise outside during the day. I was worried that we would have a repeat of last summer. Stuck inside, Blaise and PWS raging up a storm, and then he gained 4 pounds. I was worried that I wouldn’t have the energy or patience to make it through the long summer days. Are you seeing a theme here, yup, I WAS WORRIED!

I am completely amazed at how the last month has flown by. I am amazed at how I have managed to keep my kids active every single day, despite their unique needs. I am amazed at how in love I am with my kids. I am amazed at how patient I have been with my angels every single day. I am amazed at how much energy I have to run around with them all day, literally non-stop. I am amazed that through all of this I am about to finish my 200 hour yoga teacher training.

My life is so much a thing of awe for me. I am full of energy and ready to take on the day everyday with my kids. I am sure there are many people out there who think it is no big deal to have to entertain your kids all summer long. When you have 2 children with very unique needs and medical conditions it makes life way more complicated. Yet, through it all my kids are doing so well and so am I. There is only one more month left before they start school and I am not worried one bit about how it will go.

I will tell you this with absolute certainty. I am smoke free now and I feel the difference in my body, my mood, and my energy level. I believe letting go of this crutch has enabled me to spend more time out in the world again. I am a much happier and healthier mom. Yoga and meditation have also enabled me to have the patient and calm state of mind to handle each day.

I am totally exhausted now, slightly behind on the laundry, but my kids had a great day and the laundry can wait.

I would rather have a messy house for a day, if it meant that my kids were completely happy and living a full and adventurous life.

6 Responses to “Successful Summer Days”

  1. barbarapotter June 19, 2012 at 7:02 pm #

    Wow I love this. I love the boys and how they are doing so well and that Blaise is having so much fun even with the heat and his inability to regulate that. So glad Nana Rosey has the pool now and they can play and play and play.
    I miss not being able to be there to play too this summer. You rock mama and I am so proud of you.

    • rachyrachp June 19, 2012 at 7:26 pm #

      The kids and I miss you too. Nana and PaPa have been life savers this year. My kids are there every single day. 😉 Thank god for having a place to go.

  2. jamesvincentknowles June 19, 2012 at 7:30 pm #

    Another great one, Rachel~! Inspiring, and uplifting. Cheers~!

  3. Angela June 21, 2012 at 3:39 pm #

    Interesting to hear about Blaise and the heat. My 2 y/o daughter also has PWS and this year we’re really seeing problems with the sun and heat. Last year we were mall walkers, we might be again this summer (avoiding the food court)

  4. elbow7312 June 21, 2012 at 7:21 pm #

    I can totally relate! It’s not easy but you have the right mind set. You inspire me!

  5. nikky44 June 26, 2012 at 1:20 pm #

    I Love the 2nd poster!!!

Leave a Reply

