My Happy Place

4 Jul

Let me begin by saying

HAPPY 4TH OF JULY TO ALL OF YOU!!!!!!

Now, let’s get down to business. I have been in a funk, a funky funk. I realize that I have had too many days without meditation, and too many things in my life that need clarity.

So today finally a long overdue meditation came my way. I sat in complete silence, something I haven’t had in almost 10 days, and began. I began the journey into my happy place. So many years of believing that I could not meditate, and now I crave it like a drug. It is delicious, in the words of my respected teacher. It brings me back to earth and helps center me.

It is no magic pill. I don’t meditate and then say, “POOF, NOW I HAVE CLARITY AND ALL IS WELL IN THE WORLD.” It is more like a slow drive through the country. At first you are driving and not paying attention to all the beauty around you, but then you realize you are driving slower and slower, and noticing all the flowers and trees along the road. You notice the  bunnies in the field and the birds in the trees. Eventually you realize you have to just stop, pull over and take it all in. That is meditation for me.

When I am not meditating I am able to take the “country drive” feeling with me into the world. As time goes on I am able to go slower and slower, gain more clarity, and appreciate more. It is a journey.

I wanted to remind all of you on this day, this happy day of fun, food and fireworks, to take some quiet time. Take those few minutes to take your country drive. It will rejuvenate you inside and out.

I hope you all have an amazing day full of fun and peace.

Namaste-

3 Responses to “My Happy Place”

  1. Dottie Wagner July 4, 2012 at 5:38 pm #

    Beautiful! Happy 4th to you!

    • rachyrachp July 4, 2012 at 6:35 pm #

      You too Dottie!

  2. Tina July 4, 2012 at 6:36 pm #

    Beautiful! I really need to work on that myself. 🙂

Leave a Reply

