A Clear Space

5 Jul

I have never ever been one concerned with being a neat freak. In fact, most days I am so tired that I just hate cleaning.

When I started teacher training we began to read from the Yoga Sutras, and study the Yama‘s and Niyama‘s. I kept hearing a theme repeated about having a clear space, a clear mind, a clear environment.

I expected with the summer here and both kids home all day that my house would become a F5 tornado zone. Something oddly funny happened instead. I am keeping my counters clean, I am keeping up with the massive loads of laundry, and even cleaning out my car frequently.

I find that I want very little furniture and just lots and lots of space, clean and clear space. When I walk into my home and it is clutter free and organized my state of mind follows. Living where I live it is so hard to keep clean floors, but I do little bits each day. I am starting to see how meditation and yoga are changing my life on and off the mat. I think this is such a beautiful thing. I find that things that I used to dread are now things that I hold near and dear to my heart.

I woke up this morning and got my meditation in while my kids slept. I woke up early with no alarm and felt great. Then I quietly tip toed into the living room and sat in silence for about 15 minutes, that was when the oldest little angel woke up. I sat in silence and watched the sun outside and listened to my chickens and goats make their morning calls. I used to dread getting up early because I get so little sleep, but now I finally get it.

Those early morning hours just before, and as the sun rises, are the most precious time of day. Those precious few moments of quiet time to myself I hold close to my heart. Any coincidence that I handled my day better than yesterday, I think not!

My love and acceptance for myself is contenting to grow. As that love inside me grows it feels more and more comfortable to nurture my body and mind. I am worthy of that. WOW, what a glorious idea to have come realized in my life.

I am just beginning to understand what true contentment is, and how to achieve that state of mind. I am really starting to find comfort in the home that I thought would be so hard for me to call my own. I am feeling a sense of “self” now a days. I don’t worry so much about clothes, hair and makeup. I spend more time being conscious of the smile on my face and how it can affect those around me.

I saw this poster the other day and I realized just how true it really is. It was so beautiful, too beautiful not to share.

 

The above is a quote from Theodore Roosevelt.

Don’t let your joy be stolen, by comparison, or clutter, or being in a state of dis-contentment. Find your clear and quiet space and that is where your joy will live.

6 Responses to “A Clear Space”

  1. barbarapotter July 5, 2012 at 7:57 pm #

    Love, love, love this so much.

    • rachyrachp July 5, 2012 at 8:09 pm #

      I just realized I haven’t spoken to you all day. What the heck is going on here. A full day with no mom. As soon as monkey man goes to bed I am calling you. I love you.

  2. jamesvincentknowles July 5, 2012 at 8:18 pm #

    Can’t think of a single platitude but want to say something that validates you, Rachel, on what a remarkable achievement you have accomplished in so little time.

    And to say how much I appreciate your sharing so much of your life & your self. Namaste

    • rachyrachp July 5, 2012 at 8:47 pm #

      I admire you so much James. I so so so hope you come to Ojai and we meet face to face. I would love to meet the person who has been by my side from a distance all this time.

      namaste-
      rach

      • intuitiveblogging July 10, 2012 at 12:00 am #

        I love this post and agree with you about how much a clean space makes a difference. I have been trying, but in the middle of a move, all I can manage right now are oases of clean space — like the bathroom, lol. I hope I can someday reach a point where I wake up early on my own! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Two things I hate = something I love. « My Baby Naturally - July 6, 2012

    […] A Clear Space (3wordsfor365.com) Share this:StumbleUponMoreFacebookTwitterRedditLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. […]

Leave a Reply

