One Precious Life

24 Jul

 

I was in a poetry mood today and decided to read some of Mary Oliver‘s work. I stumbled upon a poem that truly spoke to me at this very moment. Entitled “A Summer’s Day” it is a beautiful piece and the last sentence is my favorite.

Tell me, what is it you plan to do with your one wild and precious life?-Mary Oliver

So I immediately started thinking, what is it that I plan to do with my “one wild and precious life?” This topic has been on my mind all week-long. I have been under the weather and possibly have an auto immune disease, or so my doctor thinks. This of course brings up a ton of stuff for me. I go into a straight panic when I think about not being there for my children, in fact I get physically ill even thinking about it. I decided almost a year ago that it was time to really get healthy, not just “sorta” healthy, but all the way healthy. I did the first thing and that was to give up cigarettes. I started exercising regularly and eating really healthy. I know I can’t prevent lighting from striking me, but I don’t have to do bad things to my body to make me sick. I am preventative!

That takes care of the body conversation, now what about all the other stuff, like living each and every moment authentically. The first part of that journey for me was taking teacher training and doing something that I love. Continuing on the journey to truly live my one precious life is to take risks and have faith in myself. I am not saying that I am going to jump out of an airplane tomorrow, but I am definitely stepping out of my box more.

I read my sister’s blog today on saying “YES” and it really got me thinking. Where in my life can I say yes? I am going to start saying yes to myself, yes to my ability, and yes to reaching for the stars in my life.

 

4 Responses to “One Precious Life”

  1. barbarapotter July 24, 2012 at 9:36 pm #

    So proud of you and the path you are on. You rock my world

  2. jamesvincentknowles July 24, 2012 at 11:06 pm #

    love

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. One Precious Life « Manifestation Station - July 24, 2012

    […] Click here to read the rest of the awesome blog about how we are spending our days. […]

  2. “Tell me, what is it … « My Writing Playground - September 18, 2012

    […] the poem “The Summer Day.” Mary Oliver writes some lovely poetry. Curious? (Image found here.) Like this:LikeBe the first to like this. Published: 09/18/2012 Filed Under: Quotes, Writings […]

Leave a Reply

