It’s Me Again

25 Jul

Over the past two weeks I have not felt at all like myself. As I mentioned in my last post I am waiting for results to see if I have an auto-immune disease that is attacking my thyroid. I have recently, almost 5 months ago, given up meat again and was starting to think I was not getting enough protein. Then the doctor slams me with the order that I am to take ALL gluten out of my diet. There goes all the fake meat I eat. I thought I didn’t eat that much gluten, but when you really start to look it is in EVERYTHING!!!

The last week has been interesting, but here is the cool part. I didn’t go through gluten withdrawal or get sick from not having gluten. I am craving more veggies and loving inventing new salads. To my joy I have also found that my skin is completely clearing up, this is something I have battled for over a year now.

I started to worry could I be a vegetarian and give up gluten, could I have it all? Yes, the answer is yes I can. I have really enjoyed everything I have cooked this week and have plans to get all the protein I need from veggies, nuts, seeds, beans, and fish. I am happy and feel so good about what I am eating.

Here is the crazy thing, I feel a million times better today than last week. I feel like a new person. I feel better than I have felt in years. Yesterday was still a rough day, but today I feel like I got a whole new body. I don’t know if it is from not eating gluten, but I suspect that has a lot to do with it. I feel like a million bucks.

I normally don’t write huge amounts about food, although food is what my life revolves around, but I think this is really something to think about. How much do we really need gluten products in our life? Can we not make food that doesn’t have gluten in it? I give my kids almost all gluten-free products, but occasionally it is okay for them. I have been doing this for years for my son with PWS, but now I am looking at it through new eyes with doing it for myself.

I am here to tell you that there is a whole world out there, and it is just full of non gluten products for you try. I think would think about the possibility of gluten intolerance or sensitivity  if you have any problems such as acne, gastrointestinal problems, lethargy, rashes, and especially if you are anemic. Give it up for just 2 weeks and see what happens.

 

 

 

 

Here is a recipe from tonight.

Easy mixed green salad:

Mixed baby greens

candied walnuts

dried cranberries

goat cheese

grilled tofu (marinated in Bragg liquid aminos)

red wine vinegar

extra virgin olive oil

 

Take the salad add the dry ingredients and toss. Lightly add the oil and vinegar and toss again. Then add a few small dollops of goat cheese and top off with the grilled tofu.

 

I promise this is yummy and gluten free.

2 Responses to “It’s Me Again”

  1. ManifestYogaJen July 25, 2012 at 6:08 pm #

    yummmm

  2. barbarapotter July 25, 2012 at 7:14 pm #

    I am so glad you are feeling better. No surprise since your mama has a gluten intolerance and it can be hereditary. Love you

Leave a Reply

