Totally Worn Out

31 Aug
The adrenal glands sit atop the kidneys.

The adrenal glands sit atop the kidneys. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Turns out they found absolutely nothing in the last round of medical tests I had done. Great, and not so great at the same time. Yes, I am thrilled to find out that I am really healthy, not so great that we are back to square one trying to figure out what has caused my body to go a bit haywire. Other than low blood sugar I am totally in the clear. There is however one little test left. This one makes complete sense and probably a ton of you reading this have this and don’t even know it.

Adrenal Fatigue, oh yeah baby. My doctor thinks that it is possible I may have TOTALLY WORN OUT my poor little adrenal glands. Good news is this is not permanent, in fact you can have this happen over and over. It is fixable and that makes me happy.

Interestingly enough when I had researched my strange symptoms years ago it kept saying adrenal fatigue, I just shrugged it off. Although I don’t have an official diagnosis yet I am going to begin an adrenal recovery program and see if I can heal myself. I know this is completely possible.

So how do you get adrenal fatigue? Well that is easy.

STRESS, SKIPPING MEALS, NOT SLEEPING ENOUGH, AND PUSHING OUR BODIES TO THE EXTREME LIMITS

What are some of the symptoms?

All the time I am tired. Not just a little sleepy, it is more like so tired not even 12 hours of sleep cures your fatigue. I am not handling stress at all. I seem to get thrown off kilter with the slightest glitch. I have major digestive issues. I gained weight, and it is mostly all in the middle. I crave extremely salty food every single day. Everyday tasks seem to take the wind out of my sails, where as before I could handle anything that came my way. This is just to name a few of the odd things that I deal with daily.

We all face some type of stress in our lives. We have busy schedules, sick kids, work troubles, illness, and on and on. For some of us we have stress only on occasion and we are able to cope with the bumps in the road with ease. For others stress is chronic, that would be me, and you can bet your bottom stress like that will wreak havoc on your body.

I do as much as I can to stay calm and grounded but not all days are perfect. In fact sometimes I have an entire month of stress and I am a nervous wreck everyday. Being mom to one child with Prader Willi Syndrome and Autism and another child with ADHD and mood issues, I am on high alert from the moment I open my eyes. As the owner of a small business in this economy you do all you can not to pull you hair out. I like to fake it till I make it. I tell myself that we will make it, and funny thing is we have this far, I guess somebody is hearing my thoughts in the universe.

You can see why I love yoga so much. When I am in the studio and I take that first breath, ahhhhhh, I leave it all at the door. It is my time, my space to breathe. When I am in the studio all the stress of my life just melts away. I opened my studio on Wednesday. It was a small first class 4 people came, but an awesome time. I went in on Thursday morning with 2 classes on the schedule, not too surprised the nobody came, it takes time to start a business. I opted to go in my studio and enjoy my personal practice. It was amazing. A mix of meditative and restorative asana, with some energy building inversions and core work. I paid close attention to voicing my gratitude to the universe every time I brought my hands to my heart.

I am grateful for my strength. I am grateful for my courage. I am grateful for those who help guide me and hold me up in life. I am grateful for the breathe that fills my lungs. I am grateful for the ability to put my legs on the ground and get up and walk everyday. It is is truly amazing how a ‘attitude of gratitude’ takes the stress away, even if just for a moment. I will take as many moments of calm, quiet strength that I can.

My yoga practice is just one part of my adrenal recovery. Keeping my stress low is crucial to healing, without it all the other steps are in vain.

Along with a gentle exercise program, such as yoga, there is adequate sleep. Sleep is critical to the body to restore and replenish itself. Having a sleep schedule where you go to bed and rise at around the same time everyday will help restore balance in your body. This leaves us with another important area of recovery, FOOD.

We are capable of regulating what goes into our mouths. When in adrenal recovery we need to drastically reduce carbohydrates from our diet, mainly simple carbohydrates. It is still important to include complex carbs in our daily intake. Increasing protein and not limiting healthy fats is crucial to helping your body come back to life. We can’t forget about hydration. It is critical to drink at least 64 ounces of water a day, I will do more. Last but not least you must eliminate ALL CAFFEINE from your diet.

So basically life is about to get really fun for me. I will write everyday and let you all know how things are going. I will fill you in on what is relieving my symptoms and any new recipes that I create I will share.

Wish me luck. I hope that I can help lead the way for any of you out there who are in the same boat as I am.

2 Responses to “Totally Worn Out”

  1. Dottie Wagner August 31, 2012 at 4:18 pm #

    I am seeing an accupuncturist who thinks this may be the cause of my fatigue. Every time I see her she tells me to reduce my caffeine intake. I haven’t done it yet-I really love my coffee. Let me know how you do with this.

  2. Jasmin Kamada January 24, 2013 at 12:18 am #

    adrenal fatigue can really put your body down, it can lead to muscular weakness.;

    Our new internet site
    http://www.healthmedicinecentral.com/kink-in-neck/

Leave a Reply

