Quote

You is kind. You is smart. You is Important.

12 Feb

When I finally got around to watching the movie “The Help” I sat speechless during one very significant scene. It is the scene with Viola Davis speaking to the little baby Mae Mobley and she say’s to her,

“Remember what I told you. You is kind. You is smart. You is important.”

you is kind

Tears came rolling down my face. I immediately thought of Blaise. It came crashing over my bones with such force it knocked my head back. This is how it is. Others will try their best to knock him down. I will not let them. I will be right there by his side to remind him.

YOU IS KIND. YOU IS SMART. YOU IS IMPORTANT.

My heart is full tonight. I dedicated my class tonight to opening up the heart space. Opening up and loving, loving even those who choose not to love us for who we are. Truth be told I couldn’t fill my heart space with that. I am filled, frustration, and sadness.

I knew when my children were born that I was here for them, and not the other way around. I knew that it is my job to protect them, stand up for them, love them, and help show them the way.

I need to fill my lungs up like hot air balloons and climb to the top of the mountain. I am ready-I am about to let it rip. The whole world will feel the vibration from what I say. So here me now.

God doesn’t make mistakes. My child is not a mistake. My child is perfect in every way imaginable. 

If you have ever had the pleasure to meet such a sweet soul you would understand. The glow that emanates off of his body while he sleeps. The high-pitched shrill that creeps through the house when he wakes in the morning, full of love for you and the day. The pure acceptance that he has for you when he embraces you, with his body that struggles to hold on to yours. If you are lucky enough to have somebody like this in your life than you are feeling those warm and fuzzies in your heart. You too understand the perfection I speak of.

My sweet angel will face much adversity in his life. I will be by his side the entire time to champion him. I will honor him always. I am working on opening up my heart space, I am trying to love those who don’t accept my son for who he is. I sit and attempt to fill my heart space with love for those who think of my child as a burden, as a problem, as something less than an made-up  standard of perfection.

I can still recall those first days of my baby boys life. I sat at home smelling his baby hat for hours, all the while he was in the NICU trying to get stronger and come home. My memories are of  so many sweet days smelling his delicious baby smell, laughing with him, watching his first teeth come shooting out of his little mouth, and sweet middle of the day naps shared in our secret space. I can remember all that. What I don’t remember is ever once feeling that he was anything less than he was meant to be. I never had anything but love in my heart for my first-born and magnificent child.

There are no guarantees in life. There is no manual, no rule book. My child was born missing a chromosome. My friend Emily’s child is dying of Tay Sachs’, a horrible unfair and cruel disease. We both know the beast we are up against. There are millions of children in the world, millions of different and unbelievably powerful little brains getting ready to run our world.  Millions of different circumstances. God doesn’t make guarantees. I know with all of me, I know this down to the tiniest part of my DNA. God doesn’t make mistakes!

If you haven’t met my child yet, or haven’t met a child yet who can fill your soul with light-I encourage you to do so. If you have a friend with such a child, or maybe family, practice acceptance. It is the greatest gift you could ever give.

 

accept

5 Responses to “You is kind. You is smart. You is Important.”

  1. JenPastiloff February 12, 2013 at 8:50 pm #

    Reblogged this on The Manifest-Station and commented:
    You is kind. Yes, you are. So keep reading this one by Rachel, my sister.

  2. icanseealotoflifeinyou February 12, 2013 at 9:01 pm #

    Sounds like your son is very special, and clearly so are you. I am glad you have one another.

    Messages like yours are important. Ours is a big and beautiful and sometimes scary world. When we light it up for others, with knowledge and education and love, we light it up for ourselves.

    You lit up my world tonight. Thanks. xo

    • rachyrachp February 12, 2013 at 9:03 pm #

      Thank you! 😉 I hope my light can shine bright enough for those who still struggle with acceptance.

  3. barbarapotter February 12, 2013 at 10:02 pm #

    That boy is my angel and he loves me so much. I would do anything for him and you are one amazing mama. For those who don’t think Blaise is enough you are missing something very special.

  4. Eliana February 13, 2013 at 4:49 pm #

    This is so beautiful. I love you and the woman and mother that you are. I am privileged to know and call you my friend. ❤

Leave a Reply

